поставио/ла Karlovacka gimnazija 01.11.2012. 16:39

On 22nd of August, four groups of disabled and non-disabled scouts lit the Paralympic Flames at four different places: Scaffel Pike in England, Snowdon in Whales, Ben Nevis in Scotland and Norther Ireland's Slieve Donard. The Flames were then united on the 28th of August at Stoke Mandeville, the spiritual home of the Paralympic Movement, in order to create the London 2012 Paralympic Flame.

The flames were supposed to ensure that the spirit of each home nation is represented in the Paralympic Flame.

On 28th of August, at 8pm, 580 torchbearers, divided in teams of five, carried the torch on a 24-hour, 92-mile relay from Stoke Mandeville to the Olympic Stadium.

The teams included five members of the UK's first blind cricket team and five PE teachers from Davenant Foundation School that had been nominated for their dedication to teaching Paralympic sports.

Before visiting the six host towns, the Paralympic Torch Relay traveled through some of the communities of Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire.